EVEN IF IT HURTS LIKE HELL I’LL PRAISE YOU

These are the lyrics of one of my favourite music groups, HILLSONG UNITED in their song  “Even when it hurts”. I use to sing this song just to hear whether I can hit the notes that they did ( I sure did….but that’s not the point). I never truly realized what I was singing…what was I getting myself into? Did I know the depth and magnitude of the words that I was proclaiming. In the past 4 months that I have not been writing I can truly say I have been traveling alot….TO HELL AND BACK TO HELL AGAIN THEN BACK…please note that this is not the literal hell but what we as Christians call “trials”. Am not going to write to you to from a high and mighty stand point of “oooh how can you NOT overcome a trial you heathen” but I will ask you …what possibly is going to be the outcome of this trial?

triii

If your answer is you simply do not know then you are not alone because I have been wondering lately then what is the outcome? At this point in my life, I have also come to the realization that we are living in a time where there are so many false prophets and controversial things happening in the church  that we cannot afford to listen to pastors alone as if they set the standards of what is acceptable and what is not….MY GOOD PEOPLE WE NEED TO LEARN GOD FOR OURSELVES!!! Why do I say this? Maybe because I have been going at this all wrong, I was seeking people to tell me what God says instead of reading the Bible and knowing exactly what God says. so we have agreed that most of us may not know the outcome right ? so I  am going to settle this with a number of questions with answers that are supported purely and solely by the Bible.

Q1. Why is this happening, doesn’t God love me?

Ans. ( Romans 8:35-39) Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? As it is written, “For your sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.” No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Psalm 103:11) For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him; (John 10:10)The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.( 1 Peter 1:7)So that the tested genuineness of your faith—more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire—may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

Q2. How am I suppose to react or feel and what should I do?

Ans. (Romans 12:12)Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. (James 1:2-8)Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. … ( Romans 8:18)For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. (Joshua 1:9)Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”(2 Corinthians 4:16)So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.

Q3. Can God even understand the pain am in?

Ans.( Revelation 21:4)He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”( 1 Peter 5:10) And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. (2 Corinthians  4:8-10)We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. (1 Hebrews 12:1)For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.

Q4. How can I trust a God who is doing this ?

Ans.( Jeremiah 29:11-13)For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. (Proverbs 16:9)The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.)( Mathew 6:25-34)“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. …

Okay am sure I have given you something to think about, now that I have derived some answers from the Bible let me ask you one question…Do you trust God when in tribulations? if no, what are you doing about it ? If its nothing like how I was an hour ago , then you and me need to start doing the following three things .

  1. READ THE BIBLE WITH AN OPEN HEART

  2. PRAY UNCEASINGLY WITH AN OPEN MIND

  3. TRUST GOD

  4. REPEAT

trials-4

One thought on “EVEN IF IT HURTS LIKE HELL I’LL PRAISE YOU

Leave a Reply

